- Why There Is No Fixed CSI Exam Calendar
- How Scheduling Works Through ETA
- Delivery Options: Online, Remote Proctored, or Paper
- Fees and Timing Rules That Affect Your Date
- Choosing a Test Window That Fits Your Readiness
- Eligibility Timing: The Six-Month Badge Criterion
- The One-Year Free Retake Window
- Sitting Endorsements in the Same Session
- Test-Day Logistics Checklist
- Dates After You Pass: Four-Year Term and Maintenance
- A Prep Timeline Built Around the 11 Competency Headings
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ETA International administers the Certified Satellite Installer exam through proctors, so your date depends on the proctor or online session you book.
- The base exam is $80, with 50 questions, a two-hour limit, and a 75% passing score.
- Remote proctoring through ExamRoom.AI requires ETA registration and adds $16 for the two-hour exam.
- One free retake is available within one year of your first attempt; proctoring charges remain separate.
Why There Is No Fixed CSI Exam Calendar
Candidates searching for "CSI exam dates" often expect a published list of quarterly testing windows, like the fixed seasons used by some licensing boards. The Certified Satellite Installer (CSI) credential from ETA International does not work that way. ETA's published guidance describes testing that is proctored through an ETA Certification Administrator, either online using Trapeza or by paper and pencil. In practice, your "exam date" is whatever session you arrange with a proctor, a test site, or an approved remote option.
That flexibility is good news if you are a working installer trying to fit an exam around route schedules and install appointments. It also means the responsibility for choosing a sensible date falls on you. This guide walks through how to find a session, what each delivery option costs, what deadlines actually exist, and how to time your preparation. If you are still sorting out what the credential covers, start with What Is CSI Certification? and then return here to plan your calendar.
How Scheduling Works Through ETA
ETA identifies its administration channels on its test-site and FAQ pages. The practical sequence looks like this:
- Decide on your delivery mode. Online with Trapeza through an ETA Certification Administrator, remote proctoring through ExamRoom.AI, or paper and pencil at a proctored site.
- Locate a proctor or site. ETA publishes a page for finding an examination site, and that is the starting point for in-person or administrator-led sessions.
- Confirm the session date directly with the administrator. Because sessions are arranged by individual administrators, availability varies by location and by who is running the exam.
- Pay the exam fee and any proctoring charges. The base exam fee is separate from proctoring costs, so ask what the administrator charges before you commit.
- Show up with the required identification and materials. Photo ID is required, and scratch paper and calculator rules apply.
Paper examinations are processed by ETA after the session, which can affect when you see results compared with an online session. Ask your proctor how results are delivered so you can plan around any employer deadline or licensing requirement that depends on the certificate.
Delivery Options: Online, Remote Proctored, or Paper
The three delivery routes have different scheduling profiles. Use this table to compare them.
| Option | How you book | Scheduling profile | Cost note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Online via Trapeza with an ETA Certification Administrator | Arrange through the administrator or test site | Depends on administrator availability | $80 base exam; proctoring charges separate |
| Remote proctoring via ExamRoom.AI | Register through ETA first | Remote sitting from an approved setup | $16 added for the two-hour exam, including an otherwise free eligible retake |
| Paper and pencil | Arrange through a proctor or site | Fixed to the session the proctor runs; ETA processes the paper exam afterward | $80 base exam; proctoring charges separate |
One point worth stating plainly: the delivery mode does not tell you the question format and does not create any open-book entitlement. Treat every sitting as a closed, proctored exam unless the administrator tells you otherwise in writing. For a realistic read on what that means for difficulty, see How Hard Is the CSI Exam?
Fees and Timing Rules That Affect Your Date
ETA's current listing shows the base Certified Satellite Installer examination at $80. The exam has 50 questions, a two-hour time limit, and a 75% passing score. There is no hands-on assessment for the base credential. Those numbers shape how you choose a date, because a two-hour sitting needs a quiet, uninterrupted block, and 75% on 50 questions leaves little room to treat any single competency area as optional.
A few fee-related timing points:
- Remote proctoring surcharge: $16 for a two-hour exam through ExamRoom.AI. If you book remotely, build that into your budget before you pick a date.
- Proctoring charges: These are separate from the ETA exam fee and set by whoever administers your session. Ask for the figure up front.
- Older price figures: You may see lower numbers, such as $75 for the core exam, quoted on third-party or legacy pages. Those older figures could not be independently confirmed, so rely on ETA's current $80 listing and verify at checkout.
For the full money picture, including endorsements and maintenance, read the CSI certification cost breakdown.
Choosing a Test Window That Fits Your Readiness
Because there is no fixed calendar, the real deadline is your own readiness. ETA's exam questions are based on its published competency requirements, a document that organizes the base CSI content into 11 objective headings. That document carries a 2013 date. A 2026 article date does not mean the outline was revised in 2026, so expect the competency list to describe the topics while some of the equipment it references reflects older products. Do not assume current-generation hardware is absent from your actual exam, and do not assume it is present; study the competencies and understand the underlying principles.
The 11 headings are:
- Satellite Communications History and Theory
- Satellite Dish Reflectors
- Cabling
- Amplifiers
- Satellite Dish Feed-horns, LNBs and LNBFs
- Satellite System Installation - Site Surveys
- Satellite Receivers - Digital Technology
- Interfacing With Other Consumer Electronics Equipment
- Transmission - Internet Systems
- Troubleshooting, Repairs, Sun Outage
- Safety
These are unweighted headings. No percentage-weighted blueprint is published, so you cannot prioritize by point value. Pick your date only when you can answer questions across all 11 areas with confidence, because a 75% threshold across 50 questions can be sunk by a blind spot in even one or two headings. The complete guide to all 11 CSI content areas breaks each one down.
Eligibility Timing: The Six-Month Badge Criterion
Here is a timing wrinkle that catches people. ETA's main exam listing does not state an experience requirement for the base CSI exam. However, ETA's issuer-managed Certified Satellite Installer badge criteria specify at least six months working in the profession, passing the examination, and compliance with the ETA Code of Conduct. Attribute that threshold to the badge criteria rather than assuming every ETA page publishes the same prerequisite.
What this means for scheduling: you may be able to sit the exam before you have six months in the field, but the digital badge is tied to the experience criterion. If the badge or a formal credential record matters to your employer, count your months of satellite work before you pick a date. Standalone CSI does not require a prior CETa certification. The separate Journeyman pathway is different: it combines CSI with CETa or GCT1 plus two years of training or experience, so that milestone has its own timeline. See CSI requirements and eligibility for the full picture.
The One-Year Free Retake Window
ETA offers one free examination retake available within one year. That creates a built-in deadline: if your first attempt does not pass, the clock on the free retake is twelve months, not open-ended. Proctoring charges remain separate, so "free" refers to the exam fee, not the full cost of sitting again. If you use remote proctoring, the $16 ExamRoom.AI charge also applies to an otherwise free eligible retake.
Key Takeaway
Treat your first sitting as a real attempt, but plan the retake before you need it. Write the one-year cutoff on your calendar the day you first test, and use your score feedback to rebuild the weakest competency headings in the weeks between sittings. A passing threshold of 75% is not a population pass rate; for what is and is not known about outcomes, see CSI pass rate data.
Sitting Endorsements in the Same Session
The Antenna, C/Ku, Commercial, and SMATV endorsement exams are separate $65 examinations. They are not extra domains inside the base exam, and nothing in this article's 11 headings covers them. ETA's current listing discounts the base examination by half when taken with an endorsement in the same session. If you already know you want an endorsement, scheduling both in a single session can reduce your total outlay. If you only want the base credential, the endorsements are irrelevant to your date.
Practical note: confirm with your administrator that they can proctor both exams back to back, and check that the combined seat time fits your day. The base exam alone is two hours.
Test-Day Logistics Checklist
ETA's published test guidance sets out what to bring and what to leave behind. Confirm the details with your proctor, but plan around these points:
- Photo identification is required.
- Scratch paper and calculators: scratch paper is permitted, and nonprogrammable or scientific calculators are allowed subject to the stated rules.
- Phones are excluded. Leave them out of reach.
- Return used scratch paper at the end of the session.
- Remote sittings: verify the current technical requirements for ExamRoom.AI when you register, since those can change independent of the exam content.
Calculators matter more than you might expect for this credential. Several competency headings involve signal levels, cable loss, and basic antenna geometry, so comfort with unit conversions and decibel arithmetic pays off. Practice with the same type of calculator you will be allowed to use.
Dates After You Pass: Four-Year Term and Maintenance
Passing the exam starts a four-year certification term. Maintenance is required to keep the credential active. For this non-hands-on credential, the published route calls for the maintenance form and $25 per year, or $100 per four-year cycle, along with either 10 continuing-education hours annually (40 over four years) or qualifying employer verification. Do not substitute the separate rules that apply to hands-on credentials.
| Milestone | What it means for your calendar |
|---|---|
| Exam date | Starts the four-year term once you pass |
| Each year | $25 maintenance fee; 10 CE hours or qualifying employer verification |
| End of four-year cycle | $100 total across the cycle; 40 CE hours cumulative if using the hours route |
| Within one year of first attempt | Free retake window if you did not pass |
Thinking about maintenance before you test sounds premature, but it affects how you value the credential over time. If you are weighing whether the whole commitment makes sense, the CSI ROI analysis and the salary guide separate occupational earnings from any unproven certification premium.
A Prep Timeline Built Around the 11 Competency Headings
If you have already chosen a target window, this schedule maps the competency headings to weeks so the exam-day material is fresh. Adjust the length to fit your field experience; installers who handle dishes daily may compress the hands-on-flavored topics, while newcomers should expand them.
Theory and Reflectors
- Satellite Communications History and Theory: orbital concepts and how signals reach a dish
- Satellite Dish Reflectors: geometry, focal behavior, and why alignment tolerances are tight
The Signal Chain Hardware
- Feed-horns, LNBs and LNBFs: what each does and how they differ
- Amplifiers and Cabling: gain, loss, connector and cable considerations
Site Work and Receivers
- Site Surveys: obstruction checks, mounting choices, and line-of-sight reasoning
- Satellite Receivers and Digital Technology: how the receiver recovers the signal
Integration, Internet, and Fault-Finding
- Interfacing With Other Consumer Electronics Equipment
- Transmission - Internet Systems
- Troubleshooting, Repairs, Sun Outage, and Safety: schedule these last and revisit them again before test day
Place troubleshooting and safety late for a reason: they draw on everything earlier in the chain. A sun-outage question, for example, only makes sense once you understand the dish, LNB, and signal path together. For a deeper walkthrough of how to structure these weeks, the CSI study guide goes into method, and the CSI cheat sheet works as a final-day review. If you want structured coursework rather than self-study, look at CSI training options.
Frequently Asked Questions
ETA does not publish a fixed national calendar for the Certified Satellite Installer exam. Sessions are proctored through ETA Certification Administrators, online via Trapeza, by paper and pencil, or through ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring, so your date depends on the proctor or session you arrange.
Remote proctoring through ExamRoom.AI requires registration through ETA. It adds $16 for the two-hour examination. Check the current technical requirements at the time you register, since they can change.
ETA offers one free examination retake within one year. Proctoring charges are still separate, and the $16 remote proctoring fee applies if you retest through ExamRoom.AI.
ETA's main exam listing does not state an experience threshold, but the issuer-managed Certified Satellite Installer badge criteria call for at least six months working in the profession, passing the exam, and following the ETA Code of Conduct. Standalone CSI does not require prior CETa certification. See the requirements guide for details.
The base exam has 50 questions, a two-hour limit, and a 75% passing score, with no hands-on assessment. For a closer look at the threshold, see CSI passing score.
Because exam logistics are arranged session by session, the safest approach is to confirm every detail with your administrator and with ETA's current pages before you pay. When you are ready to test your readiness against the 11 competency headings, work through timed sets on the CSI Exam Prep practice tests and then lock in the date that fits your schedule.