CSI logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CSI Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • ETA International administers the Certified Satellite Installer exam: 50 questions, two hours, 75% to pass, no hands-on component.
  • ETA's issuer badge lists six months of professional experience; the main exam listing does not mention it.
  • Standalone CSI does not require prior CETa certification.
  • Journeyman status and the four endorsements are separate paths, not part of the base exam.

What "Qualifying" Actually Means for Certified Satellite Installer

Searching for CSI requirements produces confusing results because the acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials. This article covers only the Certified Satellite Installer credential issued by ETA International, the certification body that also runs related electronics and communications credentials. If you landed here looking for something else that abbreviates to CSI, the details below do not apply. For a plain-language orientation, see What Is CSI Certification? and What Does CSI Stand For?.

For this credential, "qualifying" has three parts: meeting any experience expectation, passing the examination, and complying with the ETA Code of Conduct. There is no formal degree requirement, no mandatory classroom program, and no apprenticeship hours that gate your ability to sit the exam. The practical hurdle is knowing the material, which is why most of this guide connects the eligibility rules to what the exam actually tests.

The Six-Month Experience Question

Here is where candidates get tripped up, because ETA's own materials do not say the same thing in every place. The main examination listing on ETA's communications certification page describes the exam itself (fee, length, question count, passing score) but does not state an experience threshold. ETA's issuer-managed Certified Satellite Installer badge, however, specifies the following criteria:

  • At least six months working in the profession
  • Passing the examination
  • Compliance with the ETA Code of Conduct
Attribute the experience rule correctly: The six-month figure comes from the badge criteria, not from the exam listing. If you are planning around it, confirm directly with ETA or your Certification Administrator before scheduling. Do not assume every published source repeats the same prerequisite, and do not assume you are barred from testing without it.

What counts as "working in the profession" is not defined in the sources reviewed for this article. Reasonable candidates include people doing residential dish installs, installers working for a satellite TV contractor, technicians servicing commercial or multi-dwelling systems, and people in the field under a supervising installer. If your experience is borderline, ask ETA how it would be evaluated rather than guessing.

No Prior Certification Required

Standalone CSI does not require you to hold another ETA credential first, including CETa (Certified Electronics Technician associate). That makes it one of the more accessible entry points for someone whose career is centered on dishes, cabling, and receivers rather than broad electronics theory. You can go straight to the base exam.

That said, the exam is not a trivial hurdle just because the entry rules are light. The competency list spans satellite theory, reflectors, cabling, amplifiers, feed assemblies, site surveys, receivers, consumer electronics interfacing, internet transmission, troubleshooting, and safety. Our breakdown in How Hard Is the CSI Exam? covers how that breadth plays out in practice.

The Exam You Are Qualifying For

Based on ETA's current communications certification listing and certification catalog, the base examination looks like this:

ItemPublished Detail
AdministratorETA International
Base examination fee$80
Number of questions50
Time limitTwo hours
Passing score75%
Hands-on assessmentNone
Certification termFour years, with maintenance required
Retake policyOne free retake within one year

A few clarifications matter here. A 75% passing score is a threshold you must meet, not a statistic about how many candidates succeed; see CSI Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for why population pass rates are a separate and harder-to-verify question. On 50 questions, 75% works out to answering at least 38 correctly, which we detail in CSI Passing Score 2026. And the lack of a hands-on component means this is a knowledge examination: you demonstrate understanding, not a bench or rooftop task.

For full cost mechanics, including proctoring and maintenance, read CSI Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

A note on older price figures

You may see a lower core-exam price quoted on third-party or publisher pages. An ETA Press listing was reported to show $75 for the core exam and $60 for endorsements, but that page could not be read during verification, so those figures are unconfirmed. Plan around ETA's current $80 base fee and $65 endorsement fee, and verify at registration.

Registration, Proctoring, and ID Rules

You do not simply buy an exam and take it at home on a whim. Testing is proctored through an ETA Certification Administrator, and ETA's published guidance covers three delivery routes:

  • Online using Trapeza, ETA's online testing platform
  • Paper and pencil, with paper examinations processed by ETA
  • Remote proctoring through ExamRoom.AI, which requires registration through ETA
Budget for proctoring: The $80 exam fee is separate from proctoring charges. Remote proctoring through ExamRoom.AI adds $16 for a two-hour examination, and that charge also applies to an otherwise free eligible retake. Your local Certification Administrator may charge its own proctoring fee, so ask before you book.

Day-of-exam rules

  • Bring valid photo identification.
  • Scratch paper and nonprogrammable or scientific calculators are permitted, subject to the stated rules.
  • Phones are excluded from the testing area.
  • Used scratch paper must be returned to the proctor.

The delivery mode (online, paper, or remote) does not by itself tell you the question format or give you an open-book entitlement. Treat the exam as closed-book unless your administrator states otherwise in writing. Remote technical requirements change, so verify them when you schedule. For help sorting out scheduling logistics, see CSI Exam Dates 2026.

Content Readiness: The 11 Competency Headings

ETA identifies its published competency requirements as the basis for examination questions. For the base CSI, that document covers eleven headings under the small-dish capabilities section. These are unweighted headings, so there is no published percentage breakdown telling you how many of the 50 questions come from each. The practical consequence: do not skip any heading hoping it is lightly tested.

Domains 1 and 2: Satellite Communications History and Theory; Satellite Dish Reflectors

The conceptual foundation. Expect questions on how satellite signals reach the ground and how the reflector shapes and focuses what arrives.

  • Orbital concepts and why geostationary positioning matters for fixed dishes
  • Reflector types, offset versus prime focus ideas, and how size relates to gain
  • Alignment concepts: azimuth, elevation, and skew

Domains 3 and 4: Cabling; Amplifiers

Signal path hardware. These are high-yield topics for working installers because they overlap with daily practice.

  • Coaxial cable types, loss characteristics, and connector installation
  • Weatherproofing and grounding of outdoor connections
  • Where amplification belongs in a run and why over-amplifying can hurt performance

Domain 5: Satellite Dish Feed-horns, LNBs and LNBFs

The front end of the receive chain. Know what each component does and how the pieces differ.

  • Feed-horn function and polarization handling
  • LNB versus LNBF distinctions
  • Noise performance and why it affects weak-signal reception

Domain 6: Satellite System Installation, Site Surveys

Planning before you drill. Surveys decide whether an install works at all.

  • Verifying a clear line of sight to the target arc
  • Obstructions such as trees and structures, including seasonal growth
  • Mounting location, structural suitability, and cable routing

Domains 7 and 8: Satellite Receivers, Digital Technology; Interfacing With Other Consumer Electronics Equipment

The indoor half. Digital concepts and connecting receivers to televisions, audio gear, and other devices.

  • Digital signal basics as they apply to receiver operation
  • Output and input connection types and when each is appropriate
  • Integration with other home equipment

Domains 9, 10, and 11: Transmission, Internet Systems; Troubleshooting, Repairs, Sun Outage; Safety

The applied and risk-focused group. Troubleshooting questions tend to test whether you can reason from symptoms to causes, and safety is non-negotiable in a profession involving roofs, ladders, and electrical systems.

  • How satellite internet transmission differs from one-way TV reception
  • Systematic fault isolation and the phenomenon of sun outage
  • Fall protection, ladder and roof practices, and electrical safety around dish installations
Mind the document's age: The official competency document carries a 2013 copyright date. A 2026 article date does not mean the outline was revised in 2026. Some products named in that older material are legacy equipment, so study the underlying principles and distinguish them from the hardware you see on today's roofs. Our complete guide to all 11 CSI content areas walks through each heading in more detail.

Journeyman Status and Endorsements: Not the Same Thing

A frequent point of confusion is how the base CSI relates to other ETA satellite credentials. They are separate, and they should not be blended into one set of requirements.

Credential PathWhat It InvolvesRelationship to Base CSI
Standalone CSIBase exam, badge-listed six-month experience, Code of ConductThis article's subject
Journeyman pathwayCSI combined with CETa or GCT1, plus two years of training or experienceA separate status built on CSI plus another credential
Antenna, C/Ku, Commercial, SMATV endorsementsIndividual $65 examinationsOptional add-ons, not additional base domains

The endorsements are not part of the base exam's content. Studying C/Ku or SMATV material will not help you with the 50-question base test, and the base exam does not cover endorsement topics. ETA currently lists a discount of half off the base examination when you take it with an endorsement in the same session, but that pricing detail does not change the base scope. If you are weighing whether to pursue these extras, Is the CSI Certification Worth It? frames the decision.

Staying Certified: Maintenance Requirements

Requirements do not end when you pass. The certification runs for four years, and ETA requires maintenance during that term. For this non-hands-on credential, the published route is:

  • A maintenance form submitted to ETA
  • $25 per year, or $100 per four-year cycle
  • Either 10 continuing-education hours annually (40 over four years) or qualifying employer verification

Do not confuse this with the maintenance rules for hands-on ETA credentials, which differ. Keep records of your training hours from the start of your term so you are not reconstructing them in year four.

A Readiness Plan Mapped to the Competencies

If you have field experience, sequence your preparation by where your daily work leaves gaps rather than by the order the headings appear. Many working installers know cabling and alignment cold but have thin theory and digital-technology knowledge, while newcomers often have the reverse problem.

Week 1

Theory and reflectors

  • Domains 1 and 2: signal path concepts, reflector behavior, alignment angles
  • Practice questions on orbital geometry
Week 2

Hardware chain

  • Domains 3, 4, and 5: cabling, amplifiers, feeds, and LNB variants
  • Draw the full signal path from dish to receiver from memory
Week 3

Surveys and electronics

  • Domains 6, 7, and 8: site survey logic, digital receiver concepts, device interfacing
Week 4

Applied topics and review

  • Domains 9, 10, and 11: internet transmission, troubleshooting, sun outage, safety
  • Full-length timed practice, then revisit weak headings

The two-hour limit for 50 questions is generous, so pacing is rarely the issue; accuracy on the weaker headings is. For a fuller plan, see our CSI Study Guide, and when you want realistic repetition, our CSI practice tests let you drill each competency area.

Key Takeaway

Do not treat the lack of a strict prerequisite as a lack of rigor. The entry rules are light, but the 75% threshold across eleven unweighted competency headings means gaps in any one area can cost you. Fix your weakest heading first.

Where the Credential Fits in a Satellite Career

The people who typically pursue this credential are installers and technicians working for satellite service contractors, cable and multi-dwelling-unit specialists, and independent installation businesses. Employers value a recognized credential as evidence of baseline competence, but we cannot point to a verified salary premium attributable to the certificate itself. Earnings in this trade reflect location, employer, workload, and specialization, and those are different from any bump the credential alone produces. Our CSI Salary Guide separates occupational earnings from certification effects, and CSI Jobs covers who hires. If you are still deciding on preparation resources, CSI Training compares your options, and our main practice test hub is the place to start drilling.

One more caution on comparison: the SBCA offers a satellite fundamentals certification whose examination specifications do not apply to ETA's CSI. Do not use SBCA study material as a stand-in for the ETA competency headings.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to hold CETa before taking the Certified Satellite Installer exam?

No. Standalone CSI does not require prior CETa certification. CETa or GCT1 only becomes relevant if you pursue the separate Journeyman pathway, which combines CSI with one of those credentials and two years of training or experience.

Is there an experience requirement to earn the credential?

ETA's issuer-managed badge criteria list at least six months working in the profession, along with passing the exam and complying with the ETA Code of Conduct. The main exam listing does not state this threshold, so confirm with ETA or your Certification Administrator before you schedule.

Are the endorsements part of the base exam?

No. Antenna, C/Ku, Commercial, and SMATV are separate $65 exams. They are optional add-ons, not additional base domains, and the base 50-question exam is built from the eleven core competency headings only.

What happens if I fail the first attempt?

ETA offers one free examination retake within one year. Proctoring charges are separate, so a remote-proctored retake through ExamRoom.AI still incurs the $16 proctoring add-on for a two-hour examination.

How do I keep the certification after passing?

The certification term is four years. For this non-hands-on credential, you submit a maintenance form and pay $25 per year or $100 per four-year cycle, plus either 10 continuing-education hours annually (40 over four years) or qualifying employer verification.

Ready to pass your CSI exam?

Put this into practice with free CSI questions across every exam domain.